Posts Tagged: awards

Awards Galore

Leah Horlick, author of For Your Own Good (Caitlin Press, 2015) and Riot Lung (Thistledown Press, 2012) is the winner of the 10th annual Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers, as announced by the Writer’s Trust of Canada. The Dayne Ogilive Prize will also present honours of distinction to Gwen Benaway and jia qing wilson-yang.

A special event on June 29 in honour of two literary Georges: Jeannette Armstrong will receive the George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement Award, and Andrew MacLeod will receive The George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in Literature. Wednesday, June 29 at 7:00pm, free. Alice MacKay room, VPL, 350 W. Georgia St., Vancouver.

subTerrain magazine published Zsuzsi Gartner‘s short story “The Beguiling,” which won silver at the National Magazine Awards on June 10.

MPub alumni Susan Juby is the winner of this year’s Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour for Republic of Dirt: A Return to Woefield Farm (HarperCollins Canada), a follow-up to her 2011 novel The Woefield Poultry Collective, which was nominated for the same prize in 2012.

BC Book Prizes 2016 includes several SFU authors

The West Coast Book Prize Society has announced the shortlists for the annual BC Book Prizes, celebrating the province’s authors and publishers in seven categories.

The finalists include SFU alumni Susan Juby (MPub), Anakana Schofield (Writer’s Studio), Raoul Fernandes (Writer’s Studio), Annette Lebox (Writer’s Studio), and Eve Lazarus (BA). Also among the finalists are SFU microbiologist Irina Kovalyova, and SFU Writing & Publishing instructors Caroline Adderson and Miranda Pearson.

The full list of nominees is available on the prize website.

Finalists will be celebrated at a free Soirée, and then select finalists will embark on a cross-province reading tour. Winners will be named at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala at Victoria’s Government House on April 30.

Margaret Reynolds a 2016 YWCA Women of Distinction Nominee

Our good friend Margaret Reynolds, who for a quarter-century has directed the Association of Book Publishers of BC (ABPBC), has been nominated for the 2016 YWCA “Women of Distinction” Award in Arts, Culture & Design.

As the YWCA site, puts it:

For more than 25 years, Margaret has worked tirelessly on behalf of BC-owned book publishers to ensure a vibrant publishing industry in the province. As the Executive Director of the Association of Book Publishers of BC she is a hub in the community, working with librarians, teachers, writers’ groups, booksellers and government. Among other accolades, she was awarded a Distinguished Service Award by the BC Teacher-Librarians Association. She has been a driving force behind many initiatives including Poetry in Transit and the Environmentally Sound Paper Initiative. She has supported the growth of BC’s book publishers to become leaders on the national and global publishing scene and has devoted many volunteer hours to organizations such as the Alliance for Arts and Culture.

Congratulations, Margaret!