Nominations for inaugural Karen Virag Award now open

Each year, Editors Canada presents several awards recognizing excellence in editing and service to the organization. Editors Canada’s newest award was created in memory of long-time association member Karen Virag, and in recognition of Karen’s many contributions to the profession.

The Karen Virag Award recognizes the efforts of an editor or an organization to raise the profile of editing in their community.

A nominee’s contribution may take a variety of forms, including one or more of the following:

  • writing;
  • public speaking;
  • teaching;
  • participating in broadcast or new media; and
  • sponsoring editing-related activities and community building in Canada and abroad.

The award recipient will be recognized at the annual Editors Canada conference in Ottawa–Gatineau in June 2017, and will receive a commemorative plaque.

Nominations for the inaugural Karen Virag Award are now open. For complete nomination instructions and other information about the award, visit the Karen Virag Award page. Deadline for nominations is Friday, April 7, 2017.