2016 BC Book Prizes winners include MPub alumna Susan Juby

The West Coast Book Prize Society has announced the names of the winners of the 32nd Annual BC Book Prizes. The prizes were presented on April 30, 2016 at Government House in Victoria, BC.

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize:
Alix HawleyAll True Not a Lie in It (Knopf Canada)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize:
Briony PennThe Real Thing: The Natural History of Ian McTaggart Cowan (Rocky Mountain Books)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize:
Brian BrettTuco: The Parrot, the Others, and A Scattershot World (Greystone Books)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize:
Raoul FernandesTransmitter and Receiver (Nightwood Editions)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize:
Annette LeBox, Stephanie Graegin (illus), Peace is an Offering (Dial Books)

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize:
Susan JubyThe Truth Commission (Razorbill)

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award:
Susan MusgraveA Taste of Haida Gwaii: Food Gathering and Feasting at the Edge of the World (Whitecap Books)

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence:
Alan Twigg, publisher of BC BookWorld and author