BC Book Prizes 2016 includes several SFU authors

The West Coast Book Prize Society has announced the shortlists for the annual BC Book Prizes, celebrating the province’s authors and publishers in seven categories.

The finalists include SFU alumni Susan Juby (MPub), Anakana Schofield (Writer’s Studio), Raoul Fernandes (Writer’s Studio), Annette Lebox (Writer’s Studio), and Eve Lazarus (BA). Also among the finalists are SFU microbiologist Irina Kovalyova, and SFU Writing & Publishing instructors Caroline Adderson and Miranda Pearson.

The full list of nominees is available on the prize website.

Finalists will be celebrated at a free Soirée, and then select finalists will embark on a cross-province reading tour. Winners will be named at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala at Victoria’s Government House on April 30.