BC Book Prizes announces 2015 winners

Last Saturday, The West Coast Book Prize Society announced the winning recipients of the 31st annual BC Book Prizes, established in 1985 to celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers. The prizes were conferred at the annual Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prize Gala on April 25, 2015.

BC Book Prizes 2015 - winners
Winners of the 2015 BC Book Prizes. Photo by Ken Paquette.


Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize:
Aislinn Hunter, The World Before Us (Doubleday Canada)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize:
Richard Beamish, Gordon McFarlane (editors), The Sea Among Us: The Amazing Strait of Georgia (Harbour Publishing)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize:
Eve Joseph, In the Slender Margin: The Intimate Strangeness of Death and Dying (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize:
Cecily Nicholson, From the Poplars (Talonbooks)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize:
Roy Miki, Slavia Miki, Julie Flett (illus), Dolphin SOS (Tradewind Books)

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize:
Maggie de Vries, Rabbit Ears (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award:
Aaron Chapman, Live at the Commodore: The Story of Vancouver’s Historic Commodore Ballroom (Arsenal Pulp Press)

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence:
Betty Keller

For more details about the prizes and the winners, visit the BC Book Prizes website.